Showtime for MVP: Patrick Mahomes Takes Top Awards at NFL Honors

Feb 2, 2019; Atlanta, GA, USA; Patrick Mahomes during red carpet arrivals for the NFL Honors show at the Fox Theatre.

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — If Patrick Mahomes wasn't officially the toast of the National Football League already, Saturday's NFL Honors program certainly cemented his status with the 23-year-old quarterback walking away with both Most Valuable Player and Offensive Player of the Year awards from the Associated Press.

Mahomes becomes the first Chiefs player to win the AP's MVP award and the second player in franchise history to win the Offensive Player of the Year honor. Running back Priest Holmes won the award in 2002.

Mahomes becomes the second-youngest winner of the award in its history. He's two days younger than Dan Marino was during his MVP season of 1984. Jim Brown won the AP's Most Outstanding Player Award presented in 1957 at age 21, then won it again the following season at age 22.

Winning the AP's NFL MVP award gives Mahomes a complete sweep of the major player of the year honors. Mahomes previously won MVP or player of the year from the Pro Football Writers of America, Sporting News and the NFL 101 Awards among others. He also won the FedEx Air NFL Player of the Year Saturday.

The second-year quarterback captured 41 of the 50 votes cast for MVP. New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees received the other nine votes. Mahomes earned 30 of the 50 votes for Offensive Player of the Year. Brees finished second with 16 votes followed by Houston Texans wide receiver DeAndre Hopkins and Los Angeles Rams running back Todd Gurley with two votes each.

Mahomes led the league this season with 50 touchdown passes and a QBR of 82.0. He ranked second behind Pittsburgh's Ben Roethlisberger in passing yards, with his 5,007 yards standing as the eight-most in a season all-time.