Patrick Mahomes Landslide Winner as AP All-Pro, Four Other Chiefs Earn Honors

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — In a vote that may foreshadow the outcome of the NFL MVP voting, Patrick Mahomes captured 45 of the 50 votes as the first-team All-Pro quarterback from the Associated Press with four other Chiefs teammates also earning honors.

Mahomes won in a landslide as the top quarterback, with Drew Brees of the New Orleans Saints landing on the second team. He's the first Chiefs quarterback to ever win first-team AP All-Pro honors

Three Chiefs joined Mahomes on the AP's first-team All-Pro list: tight end Travis Kelce, right tackle Mitchell Schwartz and wide receiver Tyreek Hill, who earned the flex position on the team.

Hill was also named an All-Pro at wide receiver on the second team. Defensive lineman Chris Jones joined him on the second-team list.

It's the second time in three seasons the Chiefs placed four players on the AP All-Pro first team. Kelce and Hill were also All-Pro performers in 2016 season, joined by safety Eric Berry and cornerback Marcus Peters.

The six total selections on the All-Pro team are the most for the Chiefs since 1969 when the club placed five players on the first team and four selections on the second team.That season the Chiefs won the only Super Bowl title in franchise history. It was also the final season the AP selected separate NFL and AFL All-Pro teams.

Kelce earned his third All-Pro mention in 2018. He earned first-team honors in 2016 with a second-team award last year. He's joined on the AP first-team by his brother Jason Kelce, center for the Philadelphia Eagles.

Hill received first-team All-Pro honors for the second time. He was the punt returner on the 2016 team as a rookie. Schwartz landed on the first-team after three-straight seasons as the right tackle on AP's second-team All-Pro list.

Only one other Chiefs player received votes for the All-Pro teams. Linebacker Dee Ford finished in a tie for eighth place at edge rusher.