Chiefs Ink Nine Former Practice Squad Players to Reserve/Future Deals

© Denny Medley-USA TODAY Sports

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — The Chiefs took the first step toward assembling their 90-player offseason roster on Tuesday, signing nine of their practice squad players to reserve/future contracts.

Quarterback Chase Litton headlines the group of players signed to reserve/future deals. Several players who spent the season on the team's practice squad after standing out during training camp agreed to contracts. That group includes wide receiver Josh Crockett, linebacker Raymond Davison, offensive tackle Ryan Hunter and cornerback D'Montre Wade. The club also signed linebacker Robert McCray, who the Chiefs placed on the practice squad injured list in October.

Defensive tackle Joey Ivie, offensive tackle Pace Murphy and tight end David Wells also agreed to reserve/future contracts. The trio joined the practice squad as free agents during the season.

Only two players on the practice squad have yet to sign reserve/future contracts. Cornerback Chris Cooper and safety Leon McQuay remain unsigned. Practice squad contracts expire one week after a team completes its season. The contracts for Cooper and McQuay expire on Jan. 27.

Reserve/future contracts allow teams to sign players that do not take effect until the beginning of the new league year on March 13. Only players who were not on any team's active roster at the end of the season can sign reserve/future deals. These contracts allow teams to lock in young players they expect to participate during the team's offseason program and compete for jobs starting in training camp.

Teams can sign any number of players to reserve/future deals so long as they do not have more than 90 players under contract.