2014 regular-season opponents

The Chiefs’ opponents for the 2014 regular season are set, the NFL announced Monday.

The Chiefs host at Arrowhead Stadium: Denver Broncos, Oakland Raiders, San Diego Chargers, New England Patriots, New York Jets, Tennessee Titans, St. Louis Rams and Seattle Seahawks.

For away games, the Chiefs face: Denver Broncos, Oakland Raiders, San Diego Chargers, Buffalo Bills, Miami Dolphins, Pittsburgh Steelers, Arizona Cardinals and San Francisco 49ers.

The scheduling formula, which was implemented during the 2002 realignment, uses a rotating basis to ensure teams meet on “regular, rotating basis,” according to the league statement.

Every team in the NFL plays 16 games under this formula, as noted by the league:

• Home and away against its three division opponents (six games).
• The four teams from another division within its conference on a rotating three-year cycle (four games).
• The four teams from a division in the other conference on a rotating four-year cycle (four games).
• Two intraconference games based on the prior year’s standings (two games). These games match a first-place team against the first-place teams in the two same-conference divisions the team is not scheduled to play that season. The second-place, third-place, and fourth-place teams in a conference are matched in the same way each year.

The regular season schedule containing playing dates and times is scheduled to be announced in the spring.